6 Comments

Hi Substack friends, I really appreciate the honesty of this post. In this time and space we find ourselves in, we need to take time to breathe, step away, and blow past deadlines. Thank you for taking the time to just check in, and to look after your time and mental health. As a Substack writer and also a journalism professor, in both of these roles I want to take a fresh, 2021-view approach to deadlines and try to step back from hard dates and times in order to leave space for people to live, stay healthy, connect, thrive, rest. These are now the goals in life and in journalism and in writing. Please stay well friends and have a restful weekend full of lights, lattes, and good stories.

Expand full comment

I really think most readers respect this, and don't mind if we're not constantly churning things out. I trained as a journalist as well as an academic historian, which makes me doubly doomed (and did I mention I'm from a long line of Scottish Calvinists? That, too) But whether I say "here's a photo instead", or I simply dial back unannounced, I find that even my most avid readers are kind. Or maybe they just want a break, too. I think that's likely. :)

Expand full comment

I think people get it. Sometimes life happens, and I respect people who have their priorities straight. Taking care of loved ones - or even self-care - is more important than a newsletter.

As for my plans, I am excited to be on the verge of joining some BookFunnel promos, and I hope that and some other tweaks will help me grow my newsletter list substantially in 2022. Fingers crossed!

Expand full comment

It's hard to squeeze in writing in the midst of everything else, especially during the holidays. As for my Substack, hope to have two Christmas music-themed posts up in the next two weeks and in the New Year, a companion essay to an extensive write-up on Elvis.

Expand full comment

Disconnecting is a good thing. We can’t be in all the time. Something has to give and if it’s this, then see you when you’re back.

I have a few ideas I don’t think are very good but I’m sure will be once I’m done. I might talk about leadership in a new section. I’m dragging to the end of the year so I think I’ll only do one more newsletter before the year is up.

Expand full comment

I totally feel this thread. The inner writer, editor, and publisher in a three way struggle for their own version of perfection. Take heart, though, sometimes a diversion is exactly the right choice. This actually helped me a lot: I've been struggling as a new Substack author with how to use Threads with my readers. And here you put this perfect example in my lap!

Expand full comment