7 Comments

Boy did I! E. Jean suggested I take one of the essays I had written and expand it and use it for my newsletter. So I copied pasted a piece of it and then formulated a new edition to my newsletter, and I edited it and published. What I didn't know is there was a kink on the link and it did a whole bunch of editing and repasting and splicing of sentences throughout my newsletter so much that when I went back to read it, parts didn't make sense. It's as if I was drunk when I wrote it or something. Plus, the misery of it all as I thought it was one of my best pieces. To this day I don't know how or why it happened. Then, I posted a "sorry" to my readers. The very few readers which I have. ugh.

Expand full comment

When I first started with Substack I was playing around with the paid subscription feature, even to the point of signing up with Stripe, and then I decided I needed more subscribers before I went that route. I forgot about it until I got notification that someone had paid for a year's subscription! It was a friend, thank goodness, so I sent her the money back through PayPal out of my own pocket, and then I wrote to Substack to tell them about my mistake and ask them how I could cancel paid subscriptions. I told themI had paid her back and they said I didn't need to do that. They would have taken care of it at their end when I cancelled it.

They were kind enough to send me her refund instead of sending it to her, which I thought was very nice of them. They are the best! But it was embarrassing all around!

Expand full comment

So Dude,

I have been thinking a lot about this situation lately. The title of my platform i chose because of who I am. But as this goes down down the river, I suspect readers are reluctant to share or comment because they fear the twit-mob. So i have decided to rebrand a bit, and would love to hear any kind of feedback...

Expand full comment

Life is what happens while you making other plans ;) Everything will be OK, no need to be embarrased - we all are only people.

Expand full comment