5 Comments
deletedSep 24, 2021Liked by Sub Pub
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
author

Likewise I've had a change of opinion about sections. I was initially confused by how Sections worked, and figured that subscribers would also be confused. But if the categories make sense and reduce clutter, I feel the risk of some confusion is outweighed by the advantages of organization.

Expand full comment
deletedSep 24, 2021Liked by Sub Pub
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
author

That's how I've felt too. I'm continuing to learn (in part from discussions like this).

As far as I can tell, if readers/subscribers see that someone is on the right track, they're generally willing to wait for the posts to get even better (in format, writing style, etc.).

Expand full comment

I organize mine by putting my main essay first and then shorter items under the heading "Bonus Tracks" - fits with the music theme of my newsletter.

Expand full comment

Currently I have three sections, and I have given them a slightly different look and feel, and have them all linked in my side bar/featured posts. i’ve had to shift things around and re-design some of the things as I added the new sections. I’m still toying with splitting off the newest one to its own newsletter, but until I have more content I’m going to leave things as they are.

What I still need to deal with are my headers and footers, and I think I want to tweak my “about” section. But that’s for another day.

Expand full comment

I’ve definitely been doing a bit of reorganizing in my newsletter, cleaning up other parts, and laying groundwork for future improvements. I started making Collections of articles for various ongoing series which summarize each entry and include embedded previews. I plan to put these Collections in a revamped Table of Contents soon. I wrote about the process in more detail in a recent Twitter thread and in yesterday’s Substack Grow thread.

Also, even though I am admittedly highly skeptical of NFTs and cryptocurrency in general, I am looking forward to reading your upcoming NFT article! I hope to learn something new regardless.

Expand full comment