2 Comments

This is an excellent, excellent question. I try to balance writing about myself (because it does help readers get to know you) with telling stories about others. Also, it’s easy to run out of stories about yourself 😀

Expand full comment
May 31, 2021Liked by Sub Pub

It's to constantly remind myself that whatever my experiences are - I'm not the first person to have them. Countless others have walked that same path, and I need to seek them out to clarify our broader similarities and differences and gain the company of some of the greatest minds who ever lived.

This is particularly important because my project - https://soterion.substack.com/ - is intensely personal. It's about my journey from heroin addiction, the insane asylum and prison (not at the same time, thankfully) to turning my life around.

But I draw on the thoughts and experiences of others with direct or indirect experiences that are similar to expand and enrich the conversation to not be just about me. I'd like it to be about the human species conversation with itself about what it is, and what it could be.

Expand full comment