4 Comments

I think, for me, it's about pursuing my passion. It is a place to give back and to push out my thoughts 🙂 If it bears fruit in the future, so be it.

"A bird singing in the forest does not expect humans to find it and enjoy its singing." - Alan Watts [ Paraphrased ]

Expand full comment

I'm not entirely sure how, but I'd like to eventually turn my Substack into my primary vehicle for my fiction offerings down the line. The trouble is, I'm not sure if Substack would allow me to create paid subscriber tiers without making sub-only posts: I'd prefer to make all the posts free, but people could pay to support if they want, instead of as a paywall.

Expand full comment
author

I think I've seen newsletters that do what you're hoping to do: providing paid subscription as a way to support the creator without expectation of subscriber-only content. (I'm sure I've seen that kind of subscription on Patreon.) I'll look for examples and post them here if I find them.

Expand full comment

It's a side gig that I hope will eventually lead to more. I'm working out how to transition it from a more personal blog-style letter to a more professional article and/or essay. To do so, I'm building my journalistic skills so that I can offer more original reporting and things like interviews, etc. At the moment, I ask subscribers to sign up just as a way to support my efforts, but if I can succeed in broadening my content, I'll consider putting exclusives behind the subscriber wall.

Expand full comment