9 Comments

I've been wondering how you are doing and how the NFT business is going? Are you making any money, yet? And, also wondering how am I going to make money from it? Also, we were going to do an interview, but I'm partially, more so now on Medium. I found you info. helpful and folksy.

Expand full comment

You are a true hero. Stay healthy and sane. I had a Covid, vaccinated, no symptoms, but nevertheless I still have some side effects after - my running shape rolled back a couple of years.

Good luck for you!

Expand full comment

I share your covid luck so far. (fingers crossed). I like your strategy:)

I like to write marketing (https://pau1.substack.com/s/getting-deeper-into-marketing) and general information (https://pau1.substack.com/) that I find interesting and helpful.

Sometimes I just share posts that started to be articles, but kind of fizzled out along the way. I just upload them to my SubStack website but do not mail them to my list. I try to link to a related article I have written in each post I make.

I posted: https://pau1.substack.com/p/this-newsletter-does-not-exist to Reddit r/InternetIsBeautiful and it got a lot of views. Thanks for the question!

Expand full comment

Good advice I've received? Lose writing inhibitions. Be yourself. Write what you want.

(I write a mix of personal essays ranging from comedic to fun introspective. As far as my results from the advice? I let loose, but I'm always wondering how far to take the next step. Either way, I'm having fun, and that's what counts!)

Expand full comment
Jan 5, 2022Liked by Sub Pub, Sub Pub

My work paid for me to take a blogging class over the summer, which was really fun and helpful. The best advice I got from that class was a bit of a twist on the “find your niche” advice. It was more like “find your purpose”—what is the reason for your publication, blog, newsletter, podcast, zine, or otherwise, to exist? What is its point of view? You have to do that thinking and then let it permeate every aspect of your writing.

This is not to say that the POV can’t evolve over time, or that you need to pick a super-specific niche and stick to it, but more saying that you need to be able to articulate to a reader why they’ll care about your writing more than someone else’s. Attention economy, baby!

Expand full comment