12 Comments

Cultural Heritage; Sightseeing; Tour Guide; Architecture; Bulgaria.

Expand full comment

Struggling with this. History for people who may flinch at the word history. Something to do in the queue at the post office. It's a toughie. Would love any and all ideas.

Expand full comment
author

I like the idea of a category "something to do in the queue at the post office." 🙂

Expand full comment

I mean you could translate it into American if it's helpful! 😂

Expand full comment
author

I don't know...I've seen "queue" more in American writing in recent years. Sort of like how some Americans started saying "on holiday" rather than "on vacation." Perhaps I should keep the queue?

Expand full comment

The pernicious influence of Masterpiece Theatre and its heirs proceeds apace. Poor old American English. Meanwhile, in London, it's now apartment, not flat. :)

Expand full comment
May 5, 2021Liked by Sub Pub

I'd put mine in the 'something to do in the queue at the post office' category too 😀

Expand full comment
author

Okay, I'm totally going to compile a "something to do in the queue at the post office" newsletter directory. I welcome any additional suggestions. 😀

Expand full comment

Freemasonry, Fraternities, Philosophy, Self Improvement, Culture

Expand full comment
May 5, 2021Liked by Sub Pub

Fiction / Entertainment / Quick Reads?

Expand full comment

This is yet another issue for all writers because it depends a lot on knowing exactly who your audience is. My own newsletter (http://learned.substack.com) is a layman's guide to linguistics. So, do I put that in academic terms: arts & humanities -> language & society -> linguistics? Or, because I try to write in blog-style (informal, friendly) for laypeople and hobbyists, should I go with: education & learning -> languages -> word fun?

Expand full comment
author

My wife's dissertation focused on a linguist of the late 19th and early 20th centuries. One lesson I took from her work is how much classification can affect one's mindset and vice versa. So I see what you mean about classifying in academic or layperson's terms. In the kind of directory I envision, I'd want to appeal to a wide audience: e.g., use "languages," "linguistics," and maybe even "words" as categories.

Expand full comment