4 Comments

Frankly, my paid subscribers. It goes out on schedule, every single time, because they have paid me to receive it on schedule, every single time. I find that to be a perfect motivator, no matter what is going on in my life, or how busy I might be. Without those paid subscribers, I'd be missing the schedule, at least sometimes.

Beyond that though, I'm on a self appointed mission to do all I can to improve my organization, and I see my newsletter as one of the most powerful ways to do that. I am in a strong position to improve things in my corner of the world without the newsletter, but with it I can help to improve things throughout the world. That too is a powerful motivation.

Expand full comment
May 25, 2021Liked by Sub Pub

My original idea was inspired by Dickens - A Tale of Two Cities is one of my favourite novels, and I love that it was originally published as a serial - and Alexander McCall Smith's 44 Scotland Street series - which was also originally published as a serial and is set in the city I live, which is also where The Links is set. I keep writing for my subscribers - I hope The Links can offer a quick bit of entertainment in an otherwise busy day

Expand full comment

Honestly, other Substack writers. I always felt like I was talking into the void when I was writing until we formed a Substack Writers community. Now we are constantly interacting and it feels like we have a literary salon of likeminded writers and creatives. And I’ve always wanted that!

Expand full comment

My community of Expats. We have something in common no matter where we live.

Expand full comment