12 Comments

The Chalkboard Life is a weekly newsletter about teaching, for teachers of all levels who want to think about what the future of education will be - and should be - in our technology saturated world.

http://thechalkboard.life

Expand full comment

My newsletter, Learned, started as a way of motivating myself to learn new things. In the process of finding a new topic and writing about it every week, I discovered that what I really wanted to talk about was languages and linguistics. So now I do that in weekly 5-minute reads, with the occasional throwback to lifelong-learning. Want to learn more about where words and idioms come from, how to learn languages, and what new tools and methods are available? Follow along at:

http://learned.substack.com

Expand full comment
author

My wife wrote her dissertation on a linguist of the late 19th and early 20th centuries. And one of my favorite courses in college was on the history of the English language. For these and other good reasons, language is is a big deal in our house. (And we both use the Oxford comma. :) )

Expand full comment

I've taken to utilizing my Substack, The Storyteller's Corner, as a new avenue of sharing both some of my own fiction works in a free and easy-to-access, and some essays and analyses on various storytelling techniques and tactics. I haven't yet settled into a good schedule with it as yet, but as a genre fiction wonk, I'm not sure I could nail down a routine if I wanted to.

One of the perils of being an indie fiction author with a regular job, I suppose.

Expand full comment
author

But you have been posting fairly frequently recently. I figure that as long as someone posts good content, even if not on a regular schedule, free subscribers would be happy. I presume even paid subscribers would be happy as long as they feel they're supporting good work in the long run. (Maybe it depends somewhat on the type of newsletter, whether the publisher promised a regular schedule, or the individual subscriber.)

Expand full comment

My newsletter has migrated from Tinyletter to Substack and been going strong for over three years now with a pretty solid readership. Primarily, it is a newsletter about pop-culture, with some serious political or philosophical writing sprinkled in. I think the letter also offers a ground-level view of many enthusiast subcultures as well as good writing.

https://miguelrivera.substack.com/

Expand full comment
author

Anyone who can refer to Paths of Glory and Street Fighter V in consecutive paragraphs is good in my book. 🙂

Expand full comment

My Coop Scoop is a more than weekly look at the political state of play offered from a unique perspective. I'm a 50 year veteran of journalism and am also a retired a Journalism Professor from the University of Southern California. I take a highly informed view and present it with some irony, humor and a clear contrarian streak. My POV is left of center but I protect no sacred cows whatsoever. Everybody's arse is up for grabs! Check it out.

https://thecoopscoop.substack.com/

Expand full comment

Tnx Scott

Expand full comment
author

I like the line "A biting contrarian view in every edition." Who wouldn't be intrigued by that? (Well, maybe the people being bitten... 🤨😉)

Expand full comment

Van Dusseldorp's Future of Events is an exploration of online & hybrid events - what they are and what they will be. We all want to know more about how we will get together in future! My newsletter has personal stories, analysis and has LOTS of pictures. What's not to love. https://futureofevents.substack.com/

Expand full comment
author

I've been thinking a lot about what the "new normal" is and will be. In particular, what will life be like "after the pandemic"? Your newsletter might help me answer that question. 🙂

Expand full comment